Ontario Infrastructure Bank Welcomes Two New Members to its Board of Directors

TORONTO — The Ontario Infrastructure Bank (OIB) Chair, Brian J. Porter, is pleased to welcome the appointment of Bryan Davies and Jan De Silva to the OIB Board of Directors. These appointments are further governance steps in the establishment of the arm’s-length, board-governed agency.

“We are pleased to welcome Bryan and Jan to the OIB’s Board,” said Chair Brian J. Porter. “The wealth of leadership experience they bring in both private and public sector organizations is a great asset that will help the OIB deliver on its mandate.”

With this appointment of Mr. Davies and Ms. De Silva the inaugural board is now empowered under its governing regulation to approve such key documents as project selection framework which will be used to assess projects in the near term.


Bryan Davies

Bryan Davies has extensive financial sector and governance experience in both the private and public sectors.

He served as inaugural Chair of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority, and was Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation from 2006 to 2016, serving concurrently as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Securities Transition Office from 2009 to 2013.

Prior to those appointments, he was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario and held various Deputy Minister roles in Ontario, including as Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Minister of Economics.

In addition to those public sector assignments, he was Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at the Royal Bank Financial group and was Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto.

He has served on the Boards of both publicly traded and private corporations, and has been, and remains, active in a range of non-profit organizations, focused on heritage and education. Bryan is a graduate of Queen’s University and the University of Toronto.

His distinguished leadership and significant contribution in the field of public administration was recognized by the Institute of Public Administration of Canada, which awarded him the Vanier Medal.

Jan De Silva

Jan De Silva is Canada Co-Chair, Canada-ASEAN Business Council, Canada’s Representative to APEC Business Advisory Council, former President & CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade, and an Independent Board Director.

As President and CEO of the Toronto Region Board of Trade, one of the largest and most influential business organizations in North America, Jan represented the businesses, talent and economic opportunity in Canada’s commercial centre bringing extensive international leadership and government relations experience to the role.

Prior to joining the Board, Jan served as CEO of Sun Life Financial’s Hong Kong and Mainland China businesses and co-founded and later sold Retail China Limited. She also served as Dean of Ivey Asia for Ivey Business School of Western University.

Highly respected for her business advocacy and government engagement, Jan has been Chair of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong, Chair of the Canada China Business Council in Beijing, and served on the Board of the Asian Corporate Governance Association. She has been appointed by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to two three-year terms representing Canada on the AEC Business Advisory Council where she chairs the Council’s Digital & Innovation Working Group. Jan also sits on the boards of Intact Financial Corporation, listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

Scott Blodgett

Communications Branch

Ministry of Finance



For general inquiries:

Ontario Infrastructure Bank


Related Posts